Religion 133 Buddhism Worksheet Assignment

Religion 133 Buddhism Worksheet Assignment Words: 673

University of Phoenix Material _ Theresa Johnson Buddhism Worksheet Write a 1- to 2-paragraph response for each of the following. 1. Explain the basic Buddhist teachings including the three marks of reality, the Four Noble Truths, and the Noble Eightfold Path. Buddhism doesn’t follow the same concepts as most religions; as it does not need for one to believe, it involves more of a practice and experience. In general religions you must believe in something and have faith in whatever that thing, person, or spirit is. In Buddhism you are taught to not trust anything you cannot prove or test.

Instead of learning how to have faith in Buddha you practice his teachings to find and realize the truth in them for yourself. One of the basic teachings of Buddhism is the 3 marks of reality; Anatta, Anicca and Dukka. Anatta means that there is no such thing as a permanent soul because we are constantly changing and evolving. Anicca means that everything is in a constant state of flux and that nothing last. Dukkha states that suffering is a natural and necessary part of life; this is because people are constantly clinging to non permanent things, random cravings and wishful thinking instead of trying to change.

Don’t waste your time!
Order your assignment!

order now

The beginnings of Buddhism is the 4 Nobel truths; Dukkha, Smudaya, Nirodha and Magga. Dukkha means that to live an ordinary life is suffering. Samudaya explains that suffering is caused by ignorance and craving. Nirodha tells us that suffering can be transcended. While the last Magga explains that if you follow the Noble Eightfold Middle Path you will be able to transcend from suffering. The Nobel Eightfold Middle Path is the “right” way to live your life it consist of 8 steps conjoined by 3 different categories; Wisdom, Ethical Conduct and Mental Development.

Following these steps is a guideline to ethical and mental development. The goal of the Nobel Eightfold path is to show the mind delusions and allow them to be free of them. 2. Describe the three major Buddhist traditions???Theravada, Mahayana, and Vajrayana???and how each tradition developed from the early teachings. Mahayana Buddhism is a path for all people to walk not just monks and ascetics. Their main sacred scripture is the Pali Canon, as well as many other works and sutras.

Mahayana Buddhist strive to become Boddhisatavas; these are individuals who reach enlightenment but not nirvana this way they can continue to help others attain Boddhisatava. Mahayana’s believe that enlightenment can be obtained in one lifetime; as well many different ways to reach this goal. Mahayana’s tend to be more religious then other Buddhist beliefs they include celestial beings, Buddha’s and Boddhisatavas; as well as ceremonies, rituals, magical rites and sacred objects. Vajrayana Buddhism is a form of Buddhism that is said to be a branch of Mahayana Buddhism; while other suggest it may just have the same ideas.

Some say Vajrayana was intended to bring people back to the original teachings and practices of Buddha were Theravada and Mahayana had strayed. Vajrayana is described to have a quicker more effective way to the path of enlightenment. While traditions tend to favor fierce deities it but also relies on the role of Bodhisattva as the Mahayana’s do. Vajrayana’s believe in an array of mantras and rituals mostly placed on the role of their Guru, religious teachers who have mastered the philosophical and ritual traditions.

In all the teaching of Theravada Buddhism the main goal is to become an Arhat. An Arhat is a perfected saint who has reached Nirvana; who also not is reborn again. The four stages are: Sotapanna, Sakadagamin, Anagamin, and Arhat. You become a Sotapanna when you overcome false beliefs. If you can diminish lust, hatred and illusion and become born again then you are a Sakadagamin. Once you are reborn for the last time in heaven you are an Anagamin and can become an Arhat. An Arhat is a Theravada Buddhist who as gained perfect enlightenment and will never be reborn again.

How to cite this assignment

Choose cite format:
Religion 133 Buddhism Worksheet Assignment. (2021, Sep 03). Retrieved October 17, 2021, from