The Five Pillars of Islam Assignment

The Five Pillars of Islam Assignment Words: 719

The Five Pillars of Islam The central beliefs of Islam are based on the five fundamental practices they are as follows. Shahadah “There is none worthy of worship except God and Muhammad is the messenger of God. ” This is the statement of faith and belief in Allah (God) and the Prophet Muhammad. It’s the declaration of faith that all Muslims required to make. The declaration is a simple two part procedure that announces Allah is the only God and that Mohammed is his messenger.

The meaning of this declaration is the belief that the only purpose of life is to serve and obey God, and this is accomplished through the teachings and practices of the last Prophet, Muhammad. Salat It’s the performing of prayers spreaded five times in the day. Usually prayers are led by a skilled person who’s knowledgeable in the Qur’an and is generally chosen by the congregation. Most Muslims attend the mosque as frequently as possible, although prayer can be done anywhere. They are obligatory daily prayers rituals and considered to be a direct link between the worshipper and God. Zakat

Don’t waste your time!
Order your assignment!

order now

The word zakah means both “purification” and “growth. ” Muslims Zakat is a percentage of their income usually amount to about 2% of their weekly earnings. It’s the giving of alms to help the poor and downtrodden. Muslims also believe that everything is from God and that he entrust mankind with it. So it’s only right that what they earn is shared, excluding such items as primary residence, car and professional tools. Special Charity (sadaqah) is when a person also gives as much as he or she pleases as, and does so preferably in secret. Sawm Every year, in the month of Ramadan; all Muslims fast from sun up until sun own, abstaining from food, drink, and sexual relations with their spouses. The fast shows self control and allows a time for full meditation on Allah. It purifies the body as well as to progress in the path to know God by cutting oneself from worldly comforts, even for a short time. Although fasting is beneficial to health, those who are sick, elderly, or on a journey, and women who are menstruating, nursing or pregnant, are allowed to break the fast and make up an equal number of days later in the year if they are healthy and able. Hajj Muslims are expected to try and complete at least once in their lifetime.

The pilgrimage to Makkah is an obligation only for those who are physically and financially able to do so. The annual hajj begins in the twelfth month of the Islamic year. Being that it’s lunar and not solar, sometime Ramadan fall in the summer months and sometimes in the winter months. The rites of the hajj include going around the Ka’bah seven times, and going seven times between the hills of Safa and Marwa as did Hagar. The close of the hajj is marked by a festival, the ‘Id al Adha, which is celebrated with prayers and the exchange of gifts in Muslim communities everywhere.

The easiest of these for me to fulfill I would say “The Shahadah. ” Because I can make an oath like that and maintain my belief and faith. However, in times like now with my financial status, even though I’m employed, it’s hard to give up a percentage of my earnings. It’s hard to help the poor and needy when I need help. Praying five times a day, I could try it, although it wouldn’t be in a Mosque it’ll be silently during my travels, when I wake up in the morning, before I go to be, before I eat, and whenever I’m in need or to give praise.

A repetitive prayer has no meaning behind it. I pray from the heart because God reads you heart not your mind. I need my food, beverages, and sex, so I will not do the fasting thing. “It’s all in the mental” If God read the heart, not the mind, I’m gonna act accordingly. Follow my heart. And in order to make the Hajj to Mecca, You need to be debt free. Well this also will not be me. I’m forever in someone debt. I guess this is why I’m not Muslim.

How to cite this assignment

Choose cite format:
The Five Pillars of Islam Assignment. (2019, Oct 04). Retrieved February 2, 2023, from